Banana & Chocolate Bran Muffins

I haven’t baked in a while (like a couple of weeks) and it is shows.  I got my muffin mixture all spooned out into the muffin papers and ready for the oven when I noticed my bowl of soaked sultanas was still on the bench. Oh well, my Sultana, Banana & Chocolate Bran Muffins just morphed into Banana & Chocolate Bran Muffins.

I also realized that 1 cup of wheat bran flakes does not equal 100 g and that’s probably why the last batch of bran muffins I made (when trying a new recipe) turned out like bricks.  I’ve also run out of wheat bran flakes (despite buying 2-3 bags of it not so long ago) so I can’t do a measure.  So for now, use 1 cup of wheat bran flakes – I think it is about 60 g but will add the measure in as soon as I can restock my supply.

As mentioned before, wheat bran flakes are not the cereal bran flakes, although my main source of those has been discontinued.

This recipe is adapted from a recipe from Healthy & Delicious Muffins by (Dame) Alison Holst & Simon Holst.  Every muffin recipe of theirs I have tried has been a success.  The original recipe (Sultana and Apple Bran Muffins) can be found on Lovely Wee Days.

My changes are:

  • add the measurements in grams & mls
  • use milk kefir instead of plain yoghurt
  • swap the apple for 2 mashed bananas
  • replace the walnuts with chocolate chips

And this recipe is my entry for the December We Should Cocoa challenge.

 

Banana & Chocolate Bran Muffins

Ingredients:

Wet Ingredients:

1 large egg

125 ml (1/2 cup) milk kefir

125 ml (1/2 cup) rice bran oil

2 t cinnamon

2 t mixed spice

1/2 t salt

2 bananas, mashed

Dry Ingredients:

150 g (3/4 cup) brown sugar

1 cup bran

150 g (1 cup) plain flour

1 t baking soda

85 g (1/2 cup) chocolate chips

Method:

Heat oven to 220 C (or 190 fan-bake)

Line a 12-cup muffin tray with muffin papers.

Place the wet ingredients into a large bowl and whisk with a fork until combined.

Combine the brown sugar and bran into a separate bowl, squishing any lumps of sugar against the side of the bowl to break them up. Sift in the flour and baking soda. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Add the wet ingredients to the bowl of dry ingredients and mix only enough to combine.

Fill muffin tins and bake 12-15 minutes or until cooked.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Oh that’s so annoying. I made my mother’s 80th birthday cake the other day and left out the almonds I’d just ground – grrrr! I’m sure the chocolate chops made up for the sultanas in these muffins of yours. They sound delicious. Kefir works wonderfully well in baking I’ve found. Thanks for joining in with We Should Cocoa and I hope you have a very Happy 2017.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started